Pictures are important

because times change

Family_Photos16

I remember the relief of Megs finally falling asleep!   This photo was taken while she was strapped to my chest in a baby sling.

Doesn't she make a great Sleeping Beauty?I think she's beautiful even if she currently adamantly disagrees. Self-image and Teens......Gah!!

Doesn’t she make a great Sleeping Beauty?
I think she’s beautiful even if she currently adamantly disagrees. Self-image and Teens……Gah!!

This one is from this Christmas.

Greatgrandmother and greatgranddaughter meet for the first time

Greatgrandmother and greatgranddaughter meet for the first time

The day she won a trophy for coming 3rd place in a bonny baby competition.

The day she won a trophy for coming 3rd place in a bonny baby competition.

The fascinating place that is a laundry basket

The fascinating place that is a laundry basket

I doubt I've ever looked more the young housewife since.

I doubt I’ve ever looked more the young housewife since.

Her first trip out in the fresh air. As you can see, she wasn't really impressed

Her first trip out in the fresh air. As you can see, she wasn’t really impressed

Christmas past

Christmas past

See, my hair did eventually tame down!!

See, my hair did eventually tame down!!

One of my favourite Christmas times with Megan. We had a picnic in the sitting room using the tea set Santa had brought her.

One of my favourite Christmas times with Megan. We had a picnic in the sitting room using the tea set Santa had brought her.

I have very few Christmas traditions. As Megs was born in January, the first Christmas I associate her with is December 1997, when we were referring to my bump as “Lee” and convinced that she would be a kick boxer or gymnast. I also remember the small amount of food my father served up to me and how round his eyes went as I refilled my plate several times. Nothing like pregnancy to inspire a hearty appetite!

By that stage I was getting up every few hours at night to either go to the toilet and/or get a bowl of cornflakes, with ice cold millk, banana and honey. Nyom!

I’m only part way through the great “Family pictures scanning project” of 2013. I’ll finish this post once I’ve managed to locate the rest of the Christmas photos and continue to post photos of my beautiful daughter that will cause her current Teen self to cringe. 🙂

Inspired by this post over at Skin & Blister

Leave a Reply

