Smooth Progress

Last night I was feeling antsy and wanted something simple to work on.

Let’s ignore the other works-in-progress waiting in the wings.

Let’s remember the simple part.

Smoothie DK yarn (Colour: 103 Dyelot: 20) tempted me from its position nestled in my stash.

Regular readers of this blog might recognise the yarn from here and here.

A quick flick through a small selection of my knitting magazines gave me this pattern.

Baby Cardigan by Sirdar.

Knitting Magazine – January 2012 Issue 98

As is fairly usual, the yarn I’m using doesn’t even appear on the suggested yarns list supplied with the pattern. šŸ™‚

This is how far I’d gotten with it last night before I had to give in to my need for sleep.

Sorry for the poor image quality. The lacework is still fairly visible though. I know the lacework might be contrary to some folks idea of simple knitting, but honestly, this is a simple and straightforward pattern for anyone who has perfected the basics.

This morning I progressed to the point of dividing for the back and fronts and have finished the left front of the cardigan.

Smoothie lives up to its name. The yarn redeems itself from its annoying tendency to split by being beautifully soft and maintaining wonderful stitch definition.

I’m hoping to get the majority of this cardigan done today. The rain makes for grand knitting weather. šŸ™‚

There may well be a lot of sci-fi watched too.

We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

