Project the Fourth

While it’s all very well to have a work-in-progress on the needles that will lead to a new garment….it’s also lovely to have quick knits on the go too.
So I introduce you to Project the Fourth:
Breakfast Set by Juliet Bernard

I’ve been meaning to whip up a tea cosy for ages but hadn’t found a pattern that I liked. This pattern is from Yarn Forward Issue 7 from December of way back. I ❤ my collection of knitting magazines 🙂

Yarn Forward Issue 7

So far I have one side of the cosy done.

Sunshine Bright Tea Cosy 🙂

 

This cosy pattern calls for DK (Double Knitting) yarn held double. This makes for a lovely chunky fabric. I mixed two colourways for this project. A varigated pink & orange colourway with a solid yellow colourway. They make for a lovely and sunny fabric. I’m quite pleased with it.

I have no idea which brands or dye lots are associated wtih these yarns  as they’ve been wound around their ballbands and hail from a time before I started keeping written note of these details. Despite assumptions to the contrary, I’m not pendantic or perfectionistic enough about providing these details to unwind the skeins….(that plus I’m a tad tired….okay it’s mainly because I’m too tired to be bothered :p ).

Oh! I learned another cast on. I can now, finally, use the provisional cast on. This is thanks to a tutorial in another one of my magazines…..which I can’t currently find. Oh well. This evening isn’t one for details it seems. *shrugs*

Last year, I felt that I was resting on my knitterly laurels and decided that, along with cranking out actual finished projects and busting my considerable yarn stash, that this year would herald the learning & application of some new skills.

So, new skill the first – the provisional cast on 🙂

*happy dance*

There are a few patterns now that shall be cast on thanks to my now being able to use this technique.

Right, that’s it for this post, happy crafting folks!

🙂

One thought on “Project the Fourth

  1. Pingback: Crafty Blog Update 19th December – 8th January « Irish Knitting & Crochet

Leave a Reply

