Project the third: Zip & Zing

Seeing that the last two projects were for gifting to other people (my offspring included). I, and the remaining chill in the air, have decided that I should benefit from my knitterly skills this time around.  So last night, after spending a lovely while poring over (a fraction) of my knitting magazines, I decided to cast on for Zip & Zing.

Simply Knitting Issue 68 Summer 2010

It’s a teen knit, but the sizes go from 8 years to size 14. A pretty unusal size range to be sure. It’s a nicely straightforward knit with very little shaping.

Zip & Zing by Ruth Maddock

As usual, as those of you who have read my blog for a while will know, my take on Zip & Zing is unlikely to look anything like the garment pictured above. 🙂

My take on Zip & Zing

The pattern suggests Stylecraft Sirrocco & I’m using a mix of  Patons Smoothie in the red colourway & Stylecraft Life in a colourway called Berries.

So far so good, apart from Smoothies usual splittiness. This minor irksome feature of this yarn is more than made up for with its crisp stitch definition and beautiful handle (i.e. it’s heavenly to touch).

Now, I’m going to get back to knitting my hoodie.

Happy crafting folks!

🙂

One thought on “Project the third: Zip & Zing

  1. Pingback: Crafty Blog Update 19th December – 8th January « Irish Knitting & Crochet

Leave a Reply

