Verily there be progress

I adore the fact that I can try these on as I go.
Due to changing needle size and yarn weight (it’s me, I’m irrepressibly innovative) I shall also need to reduce the number of stitches along the body of the mitt. Tis a tad too roomy for my hand size. I’ve reduced the number of stitches towards the ribbing section to 44. I’ll see if this’ll do when I cast off.
Then my levels of persnickity may or may not call for me to frog it back a bit in order to introduce the decreases more smoothly.
We’ll see.
Anothers Exams Day Worth of Knitterly Progress

Anothers Exams Day Worth of Knitterly Progress

 A quick update:

I’ve cast the mitt off and it is decidedly too roomy. I shall have to frog it back and being the decreases earlier. 44 stitches is a good number to end up with.

Just a tad too roomy

Just a tad too roomy

It’s amazing the difference between the two mittens pictured below, even though they’re based on the same pattern. Oh the adventure that is knitting. McPhee* has it right knitting is “a cosmic crapshoot of possibility”

What a difference a little gauge makes!

What a difference a little gauge makes!

 

*Stephanie Pearl-McPhee a.k.a. The YarnHarlot – quote taken from her book “Free-Range Knitter”

Leave a Reply

